Taking the Plunge!

27 01 2011

Before the beginning of this year, I wrote a blog about going back to school to become a High School teacher.  As this is still one of my dreams, believe me it will happen, I’ve decided to act upon a dream of mine I’ve had for a long time.

Over 4 years ago, I made a realization that I wanted to be an entrepreneur.  I wanted to have a restaurant, I took a step back from that dream/idea and began breaking it apart as far as my own capacity to be able to run a restaurant.  After researching and considering my options I came to realize that it’s a cafe that I want to own and run.  So with that being said, I’m putting my aspirations to become a teacher on hold.  I thought that, my availability and choices I will have after my cafe is up and running is that I can then attend school.  As far as my schedule now, it would be impossible for me to work full time, go to school, and take care of my beautiful 4 year old daughter Kaya.

If there’s one thing that I’m good at, it’s making people happy through food, music and face to face interaction.  I want a cafe where people can come into a relaxed environment and enjoy the community that we all love so much.  It will be a place to hear good live music, to eat amazing fusion and traditional filipino fare, and to be able to integrate and talk with the community in making the situation here in Canada not only better for the Filipino community but all oppressed communities in Vancouver and the lower mainland.  It will be an open space for community organizations to hold events, share their art, their stories, their struggles.  The cafe will be an outlet for collective thinking and collective living.  Pushing the boundaries of a Community business to the next level. 

To all the kasamas who’ve been by my side throughout the years know how important this is to me, I want to thank you for never allowing me to trash this idea and only helping me catapult this idea and dream into reality.  I’m building this business for the community, my family and my kasamas.  This is why the initial name for my cafe will be “Kasama”.  Dedicated to the very people who have helped and molded me to who and what I am today. 

If you’ve ever walked into a cafe and felt like you don’t belong due to the bourgeious/contemporary ambience of a Starbucks and frou frou coffee shops and felt like you were out of place… in 2012 there will be a biz in town that will allow you to be exactly who you are… a filipino. 

In life, we realize what our calling is.  I’ve realized my calling is to educate, although teaching would be the most direct… educating on the community level is my true love.  Through food, music, and community we can educate the masses…

Serve the People….

Actions

Information

4 responses

28 01 2011
Jonah

Wooo! GO FOR IT JON!

28 01 2011
shetpancit

Thanks Jonah!!!!!!!! Free food for you when it’s open!!! 🙂

1 02 2011
jinjin

herro! me have yeaws manymany of barista expeweience..i make yous vanirra rattes?!!! vewwy nice

5 02 2011
Rebecca

I love it. Can’t wait to see your ambitions happen love!

Leave a Reply

